Condomologist

all things condoms

Madtown love of lube!

Posted by Condomologist on March 5, 2009

You know how there are certain things we love forever because they’re simply a matter of how we were raised. In the Oppenheimer clan, it’s Wendy’s, never McDonald’s. Dessert with dinner? Haagen-Dazs coffee ice cream, no question. And if there’s any doubting that I got my sexual pleasure training from two of the finest pleasure-focused minds in the country — Ellen Barnard and Myrtle Wilhite of Madison, Wisconsin’s lovely A Woman’s Touch — and developed my love of lube back in 2004 during my first year facilitating pleasure programs, it can be found in a recent write-up Ellen posted on the AASECT (American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors and Therapists) listserve:

 

“In the 13 years that I have been selling condoms, I’ve heard a lot of different perspectives on “fit”. Most men find that Jody’s suggestion of lube in the head of the condom (on the inside) changes the sensation so that it feels like the latex/other material is not there.  I find that to be true for gloves well; lube up the hand before putting the glove on and you can’t feel the glove. In general, the lack of enough lube seems to be one of the major reasons men have uncomfortable experiences with condoms. Condoms like the Inspiral & Pleasure Plus can enhance sensation for some men, and allow for room for a piercing if they have one. And I also agree with Jody that it’s always wise to have a “female” condom (one worn within an orifice rather than over an appendage is how I think of it) available, both for control and to address the perception of a “fit” issue. Certainly some men are more sensitive to things like constriction at the base of the penis, so finding a wider condom can be helpful. And the one area where I find that condom size does matter is length; some condoms are longer and easier to keep on for a man with more length. Generally I recommend that men experiment with what they like, and if women are buying the condoms, they should buy a selection of sizes and styles. Whether it’s psychological or physical, I prefer to find ways around the barriers to
condom use, given the unpleasant alternatives.”

 

I was doing a Planned Parenthood program at a local college recently, and I said something to the class like “I love lube so much I just want to scream it in the streets,” and I maintain that the discovery for so many men that comfort of a condom can be enhanced through a little lube inside the tip of the condom forever changes their sex lives. I know it completely changed mine. Hopefully the message will continue to spread.

Leave a Reply

 
